Skip to content
January 31, 2011 / Baker by Night

PPQ: Ginger-Pear Quick Bread

As you all may know, when I started this blog, I joined a wonderful group called Project Pastry Queen. To those of you that are new here, PPQ is a group of a bunch of wonderful bloggers trying to bake their way through the Pastry Queen cookbook. Each week, a different blogger gets to choose a recipe and host it on their blog. Well, it is finally my turn!! I spent weeks going through the cookbook trying to find the perfect recipe for my choice. There were so many wonderful looking recipes in the book. I couldn’t figure out what to make. I chose this bread because I am really not ready to give up on winter yet. I love everything about winter. I love the smell of the cold air, I love the feeling of goosebumps on my skin, I love that my nose hurts when I’ve been outside for too long. I love flannel sheets, the weight of extra blankets, and snuggling by the fire. But one of the things I love most about winter is spending the day in the kitchen basking in the warmth of the stove and oven. And those days when I’m in the kitchen the whole day, I absolutely love cooking with seasonal winter flavors. I only had to see the title of this recipe – ginger and pear, and I knew that this was the one for me!

Yesterday, I spent the entire day in the kitchen with all the windows open (it was 60 degrees yesterday!). I cooked for 13 hours straight, with only the occasional bio break or a break to eat a well deserved cookie. I love these kind of days, but time has a tendency to get away from me. I had a list of 9 things that I wanted/needed to cook and by the time I got to the bread, I realized that I had run out of butter and I didn’t have enough fresh ginger. It was too late to run out to the store, so I made do with what I had. I substituted the butter with oil, and I used rinsed crystallized ginger instead of fresh. I’m happy to say that the end result is amazing. I think next time I might use brown sugar instead of white sugar, I really think the slight molasses flavor would compliment the ginger and pears. The bread is dense and moist, it would be perfect for breakfast with a cup of coffee or in the late afternoon with a cup of tea. Actually, that sounds like a really good idea. I need to go put the water up to boil. In the meantime, check out how the other members did here.

Get the recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

