Skip to content
November 14, 2010 / Baker by Night

Project Pastry Queen: Bunches of Biscotti

I think I should change the name of my blog to Baker by Day, or Baker by Weekend, or Boy What a Difference Sunlight Makes. I do not consider myself very skilled in the photography department. I am slowly learning by studying other people’s blogs and cooking magazines. Every day I learn something new about composition and staging. Today I learned two very valuable lessons, lesson one : photograph on the dining room table in front of the window. Lesson two: wait until the chocolate dries on your freshly dipped biscotti before you consider moving them on a silpat from the kitchen to the dining room table. Oh well, I had to make sure they looked a little messy so you guys wouldn’t think that I stole this picture from another site. Right? At least that’s the way I’m going to think about it.

To get myself started in the blogging world, I decided to join a little venture called Project Pastry Queen. It was started by Shawnda at Confections of a Foodie Bride (check out her blog, it’s awesome). Her favorite cookbook is The Pastry Queen: Royally Good Recipes from the Texas Hill Country’s Rather Sweet Bakery and Cafe. A heck of a title for a heck of a book. It has the most delicious looking recipes. Anyway, Shawnda started Project Pastry Queen as a way to get different bloggers together to cook their way through the book. Each week one of the bloggers involved picks a different recipe out of the cookbook and we all make it. Then, we all post our results on Sunday. This week, Kalyna over at The Monarch and the Mrs. Kitchen picked biscotti. And boy am I glad she did.

I was really nervous to make these cookies, I’ve always thought that biscotti were so involved due to the double baking. I won’t lie, these were time consuming, but they came together very easily. These biscotti are the perfect match between break your jaw crunchy and chewy. They are perfect when dipped in a cup of coffee (this was my breakfast, and a very delicious one at that), a glass of milk, or lots of chocolate! They are easily modified to accomodate whatever flavor you want, or whatever ingredients you have on hand. I have a hard time making decisions so I made 4 different types, and then dipped half of those 4 different types in 2 different types of chocolate so I ended up with (4 times 4 divided by two plus 3  times 2 minus 6 …) a lot of different combinations of biscotti. If you have some time, these are very much worth it. They freeze well, and I’m pretty sure they share well too!

Keep reading and see some cool pictures!

Leave a Reply

