Skip to content
November 14, 2010 / Baker by Night

Meatloaf Cupcakes with Mashed Potato Frosting

About the meatloaf: This is not my normal meatloaf recipe. My normal one is covered in bacon and cheese. It is very healthy. I was trying to figure out a way to make my usual meatloaf recipe into cupcake form, but the bacon presented a slight problem.  I found this recipe and it is pretty much the closest thing that I could find to my recipe, and I liked that I got to use my food processor. I just recently got a food processor and I honestly don’t know what I ever did without one. I must use it a few times a day now.

About the mashed potatoes: With as much as I cook, you would think that I could make a good batch of mashed potatoes. You would also be incorrect in that thinking. For some reason, I am inept in the mashed potato department. I’ve tried recipes, I’ve tried intuition, they always come out, well, gross. Just recently, I realized that I was overthinking the mashed potato. Potatoes should be kept simple. They don’t need a bunch of cream cheese, ranch dressing packets, sour cream, butter, and milk (yes, that is how I used to make them). They just need some basics – butter, warm cream, and salt. Now that I am getting more comfortable with the basic mashed potato, I decided to venture out and add a little garlic and parmesan. Boy am I glad that I did. I personally think that these mashed potatoes are better than real icing! Maybe I will try them on real cupcakes…

Get the recipe!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Jerry Kaufman / Nov 14 2010 4:39 pm

    You have conquered mashed potatoes

Leave a Reply

