Skip to content
November 18, 2010 / Baker by Night

Whole Wheat Multigrain Bread


There are 5 things that I think every woman should know how to do:

  1. Sew on a button
  2. Set a proper table
  3. Make homemade bread
  4. Beautifully wrap a present
  5. Send thank you notes within an appropriate time frame

So far on this list, I’m 0 for 5. I realize that at this point in my life, I should be able to do at least one of these things. I really have no excuses, the things on this list just seem so intimidating (especially the bread). For those that don’t know me well, I am not one to shy away from a challenge. However, the thought of making homemade bread evokes strong feelings of fear and failure.  I trace this response back to a traumatic Challah experience I had when I was 6. I really don’t want to go into it, it’s too difficult to talk about, but just know that it was traumatic enough to keep me from making bread for over 20 years.

The night that I made stew for dinner, I knew that a fresh loaf of crusty whole grain bread would be a perfect accompaniment. I decided to set my fears aside and just go for it. I found this recipe and thanks to my handy dandy Kitchen Aid stand mixer (love!), this bread required little to no effort. Next time I think I will skip the stand mixer and hand knead, my arms would look awesome after all that work! The bread was actually really easy and fun to make! It came out just as I had hoped, soft on the inside, crusty on the outside, and great for sopping up all the stew-y goodness. It would also be a great bread for a sandwich. I am so happy that I can now check one thing off my list. Now for the other 4…

Get the recipe!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jerry Kaufman / Nov 18 2010 3:46 pm

    Great post! You’re so witty

  2. Bessie / Nov 18 2010 3:50 pm

    All five of these must do options intimidate me. Can we have a redo of the must do list??

  3. Louise / Nov 18 2010 4:10 pm

    Im with Bessie on the re do…what happened to womens lib and changing cat tires (which I also can’t do btw!)

  4. Ana / Nov 18 2010 4:13 pm

    I read the list and felt bad, but then I remembered I can sew! phew!
    I made bread once with the help of my grandmother, she was teaching me. You’re right, it’s a great workout!
    It’s funny that you post this when I’ve been thinking I;d like to bake bread myself 🙂

  5. Ters / Nov 20 2010 4:03 pm

    I LOVE those 5!! Great blog beautiful!

Leave a Reply

