Skip to content
November 19, 2010 / Baker by Night

Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Swirl

So by this title, you can probably see that the pumpkin respite is over!! (I’m not sure if I’m using that word correctly, but I was trying to find a fancy way to say break). This was a difficult week, I had to try very hard to not speak of pumpkin recipes and not make anything pumpkin. Well, the other night, I decided that I was just going to make this most perfect recipe and if I was the only one that ate it, so be it. As I pulled the cake out of the oven, the hubby turned and said “Can I have some of that?” My heart skipped a beat, I got a little light headed, and a huge smile formed on my face as I brought him a slice of cake. This little cake did more than satisfy my craving, it opened the door for future generations of delicious pumpkin recipes!!

I truly believe that pumpkin and cream cheese were meant for one another. Out of all of the great relationships in all of culinary history (mashed potatoes and gravy, bread and butter,  strawberry and chocolate), there are no 2 flavors more perfect for one another than pumpkin and cream cheese. I don’t even know why they work so well together, maybe it’s because the pumpkin is so spicy and warm and the cream cheese so creamy and sweet, so opposite, but so perfect for one another. Sounds a little like my relationship, but I’m getting off track… Anyway, these flavors just work. You don’t need to know why. Don’t think about it too much, just make this cake and enjoy the relationship made in culinary heaven.

Get the recipe!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Bessie / Nov 19 2010 4:58 pm

    I want some of this cake. Also, now you have me thinking…if you and MIke are Pumpking and Cream Cheese (they deserve caps)…then what are you and I?

Leave a Reply

