Skip to content
January 21, 2011 / Baker by Night

Whole Wheat Banana Bran Muffins

I think I am starting to get a reputation as the “dessert lady”, which is a title that I am completely fine with. In fact, it was kind of my goal in starting this blog that people would ask me to more dinner parties in which I could bring more desserts. We are going over to a friend’s house tonight for a Shabbat dinner and I was asked to go bring the dessert. Yay! Immediately my head filled with visions of key lime cheesecake, opera cake, poached pear pie, and black and white cookies. I was starting to look through my recipes when I got the email.

No dairy.

No gluten.

Safe in pregnancy.

I thought it was a joke. I read the email at least 4 times and then looked at the list I had made. I came to the realization that none of those options would work. I didn’t know what to do. I googled a few things and realized I had no idea what I was looking for, so I took the dogs for a walk to get inspiration. Since it’s still pretty cold outside, I knew I wanted to make something with seasonal flavors. After a very, very long walk, I decided on a gingered pear pie with a gluten free pie crust. I  searched for recipes for a pie crust and finally found one that looked like it would work for a first time GF baker. I also chose a GF strusel topping for the pie. I’m not sure how the pie came out. I haven’t tried it yet, it looks tasty, but I couldn’t very well take a slice out of the pie and then present it for the dessert tonight. I guess we will find out tonight! I might bring a fruit salad with me just in case…

So what does any of that have to do with these muffins? Well absolutely nothing. But like I’ve said before, this is my blog and I should be allowed to talk about whatever I want to. See the thing is, the pie might be inedible and I might not want to share the recipe with you. Also, I haven’t taken a picture of the pie and don’t have my camera with me. So, I am posting a recipe for something that I know is very good so that you don’t stop reading my blog.

I love breakfast, and I especially love muffins. I make a big batch of these every few weeks, wrap them individually, and stick them in the freezer. Then, I can have a homemade muffin every morning while I’m driving to school (It’s a very long drive. Sometimes I take 2. Please don’t tell anyone.) These muffins are not your normal bran muffin. They were adapted from a Barefoot Contessa recipe, and really, she can do no wrong. They remind me of the bran muffins I ate while we were on our honeymoon (I may have even snuck a few of these bran muffins back into the country, maybe). They are also chock full of whole grains and just 1 with some a piece of fruit will keep you full until lunch. So make these muffins and enjoy them, and check back to see how the pie turned out!

Get the Recipe!

 

Leave a Reply

